New build won't boot

I just got done putting together my computer and every time I try to boot it up for the first time, the led lights on the fan and lights on my motherboard flash for just half a second and then fail to boot. I can only repeat this when I turn off and back on the PSU.

(I am fairly new to all this stuff so correct me and ask me questions if I forget something or say something dumb)

My specs: 

MOTHERBOARD - msi z77a g45

CPU - intel i7 3770k @ 3.5GHz

GPU - Asus Geforce GTX 770-DC2OC-2GD5 2GB 256-bit

RAM - 8 GB (2x4GB) G.Skill ARES 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

PSU - Rosewill HIVE Series HIVE-750 750W Continuous @40C, 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified, Modular Design, Single + 12V Rail, ATX 12V v2.31/EPS12V v2.92, SLI Ready, CrossFire Ready, Active-PFC Power Supply

CASE - Zalman z11 HF1

HDD - Western Digital 1TB HDD

Hi i feel your pain, my last build wouldn't boot so let's go down the list

1)are both the 24pin and 8pin connectors fully connected?   2)Is the ram seated properly?   If everything is connected do the paper clip test on your PSU  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5FWXgQSokF4.    If everything checks out then you may have a bad MOBO.  (which is what was the case for my build) well good luck.

Are there spacers underneath your motherboard?

If you didn't put these on it will either cycle like this or short your mobo.

Yes, i ended up researching the issues myself and rechecked the 8-pin, the 24-pin, and the ram. all of that is plugged in correctly and positioned in the right places. 

I did read on a forum somewhere to try unplugging the fans from the case. I unplugged the fans from my case that were hooked directly to the PSU and it turned on just fine. I have two other fans in my case that are connected directly to the motherboard that are working just fine.