New AMD Piledriver CPU

Hello everyone, as I am no designer of CPUs I would like this forum’s people to give an honest review of AMD’s new Pile driver CPU. I know Intel has been leading the market with the i5 and i7 line of CPUs. I guess I am looking to find if AMD has produced something that has equalled at least the i5. I find the cost of Intel’s chips rather over the top even when looking at an i3. For gaming and video editing do you think this new AMD chip has what it takes so to speak? I have included a video from the Egg explaining some of the design changes that some of you will understand a lot more than I do. Thanks to all in advance for your input.  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6smx6S2G-D0&feature=g-all-u

Logan said in his last vid I think that the piledriver 8-core performed better in rendering than the Ivy bridge i7.

Logans going to be reviewing a pile driver cpu soon btw.  the new piledriver cpus are good for rendering, but they're still a bottleneck when it comes to gaming.

The new FX chips are best at heavily threaded loads, almost always beating out the 2nd/3rd gen i5s, sometimes beating out the lower (~$300) 2nd/3rd gen i7 chips. The lighter the threading on the application, the worse the FX chip is going to do. Intel's single threaded performance outperforms the FX chip's by a decent margin, though that gap was made smaller with the release of the Piledriver chips, its still a prevalent factor. Subsequently, if comparing the FX8350 to the i5 3570k, you'll generally see little to no difference between the applications that use a single core or ones that use 4 or less, because half the FX chip will rest unutilized while the i5 is being fully utilized. Once you get higher, 5 - 8 threads, will you see the FX chip start pulling ahead.