Network setup to fool around/practice with

I’m a computer science student and would like to practice some network “stuff”. As I’m mostly interested in the math side of computersciene all that networking equipment is fairly overwhelming so I’ve come to seek the help of kind strangers on the internet.

Goals ‘n’ Stuff

The endgoal is to create a subnet for my stuff (I live with other people and am not allowed to touch the router, to bring them the glory that is pihole and other nice things :frowning: ).
I can guarantee wired connections to my subnet for everything that can be wired. Only wireless thing is my Phone, therefore a VPN to my subnet would be dandy for that.

Extended Goals (feel free to ignore)

At some point I would like to have Accounts for wireless. So my friends can have accounts and I can manage which devices they can see in the network. E.g. hide my Spotify-Connect-Speaker-thingies from those friends with bad music taste. This would be good to have done once, If i ever decide to do this on a larger scale. Though a guest-network would be fine for now (and by fine I mean super duper cool for my limited abilities in this field).

What I already have

• Access-Point: Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC Lite
  • RPi (3B+) running the Ubiquity-Controller, an SMB-based NAS and Pihole
  • One managed Switch: Netgear GS108PEv3 (8 Ports, 4 are PoE)

What I would buy

• Unifi Security Gateway, this thing should allow me to
    • Properly seperate my network
    • Force everything to use my pihole as DNS (TVs, etc)
    • Have a Firewall to detect potential traffic that I don’t want
  • Unifi Switch 8-60W (Though 150W might be cool, since I like SFP)
    • I need more ports
    • PoE since I want more RPis over PoE (Yay less cables)
    • Unifi because I think their Interface looks better than Netgears
  • Another RPi as the VPN-Server
    • With a NAS running on my current I’d tax the poor 300MB connection to much I think, thats why Id get a new one