Network drive over the internet

Hi, I'm new to the world of networking. I have a production company and I need a way to map a network drive from my local FreeNAS drive to my employees over the internet. They are not connected to my local network and I want the NAS to be available as a HDD on their computer. Essentially what I want is for them to access all projects files including video clips and documents. I have heard of FTP of course and CIFS (which apparently is not safe to use via the internet). Currently I have a NAS which has FreeNAS installed and connected to my local network via CIFS. I have been looking everywhere but it has been very difficult for me to come up with a solution that would be almost seamless for the rest of the team to access files. Please, if anybody could help, I would very much appreciate it. I need some real in-depth help. Thank you very much.

You might want to look in to setting up an openVPN connection that way you will be secure and you can share to anywhere easily.

do files have to be stored only on the nas or can also be stored on your clients computers?

if not, try synchronizing everything with bittorrent sync (i think now its called just sync). if yes, you need to set up a vpn and put them on the same vpn network as your nas.

i dont have a freenas box, i have a homemade server computer for storage and backup, and a vpn (logmein hamachi) on it as on all of my other computers/laptops, so i can access my files and make backups from everywhere.

but i still use bittorrent sync for sharing over the internet :D.