Network Crisis

Hi everyone on forums, brand new here and my first post. I really need help getting my head around the networking side and I will try to tell you everything I possibly can but aware I have no knowledge in network.

So my new house has two Ethernet wall ports. One in my room and one in the kitchen. Now, my ISP originally Telstra (I'm in Austalia) gave us a modem router but Telstra was removed from our area and is now brought by a new ISP. They sent us a new modem router and got that connected and all good. Now, lately I was wondering why I never tried setting up my own modem and all this wireless stuff in my room as my wifi connection from my room to the kitchen is around 22 meters with couple of walls making my connection somewhat average. Now, school is almost finish and want to get back into all these awesome game scoming out on both pc and console (don't hate...as much). Now this is where I'm stuck. How the hell do I get my port in my room to work and spent the whole day just playing with it and such.

So the kitchen router goes like this (Ethernet cable from wall > into a adsl splitter > with one adsl cable going into my home phone and > one into the modem.

I tried using my old modem from telstra and connected the cables as they see fit and no internet connection. Took one of the adsl cables from the splitter and the phone and tried that. no internet connection. Now I'm getting really frustrated and want to pull my hair out and decided ask you guys for help cause I know you guys are helpful.

Where do I start, what do I need, what do I do, what I should buy.

Just to clear some confusion up, its not an ethernet port on the wall, it is a standard phone socket and the cable is an RJ11, as ADSL is the communication standard not a cable.

I'm presuming the kitchen socket is the master socket. So it is the first connection within the house from the external phone line. Any additional sockets from there are daisy chained to the master socket.