Network Admin Q's

Hey all. I am looking into becoming a network administrator as a career choice. My brother in law does this for a living and i am really interested in it. He recommended i become familiar with Kace and mpls. Does anyone have any other recommendation of what i should start to learn? My local university does not have any programs for this so i am not sure where to start. 

If you are new to the industry, then I would recommend starting off with a certification like CompTIA's Network+. This will help you reinforce your knowledge about the ISO layers, switches, routers, IP addressing, the basics. From there, you can branch out to manufacturer certification like Cisco. There is a broad scope of what you can learn in this field.

I am new to the industry but i have been around computers since i was 4 so i have a good basis of knowledge of computers but i know servers is a whole different animal. Are there any school programs or degrees that would be beneficial? or are certifications good enough?

if you have a local class or some sort i would recommend the CCNA program. but it is an industry standered to get the compTIA A+ certification. some high schools offer it( like mine does).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptBFdwToK-s

Is CompTIA A+ enough to get into the field so i can get enough experience to get further certifications like network + and server+? My end goal is to be a network admin and my local university do not offer programs for it so i guess i have to go the certification route and i am not sure how to go about that.