Need opinions on AMD to Intel transition

Okay, so I am considering moving from an FX-8320 I've been using for two years to something like an i5-4690k, and am wondering if that is even worth the trouble/money on a system that is mainly used for gaming.

Current specs are:
AMD FX-8320
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer
G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16gb DDR3-2133
MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Samsung 840 EVO 250gb SSD
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 PSU
Corsair H100i CPU cooler
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

I believe I could get away with just changing the CPU/MB and continue with everything else I have as far as the internals go, I just don't know if the performance gain would allow me to justify the $350-ish cost for the CPU/MB.

In all honesty, part of this is also because I kind of want to transition to Micro ATX and a cube case, and also because I've been having issues with my ASRock MB downclocking my RAM when I try to overclock my CPU, no matter what I've tried to manually prevent it. (I found out too late from research this board seems very picky with Ram and OCing) I know the RAM speed doesn't matter a whole lot since I have a dedicated GPU, but it just bothers the heck out of me.

So, sound like a bit of a waste of money or should I go ahead and use an Intel processor for the first time ever?

I wouldn't bother changing, also its a really bad time to change.

I personally use an i5k series... In all honesty an GPU upgrade will make a lot more of a difference, and I'd wait until 2016 to upgrade.

The main reason is DDR4. If you buy (I presume) a 1150 i5k or equivalent it doesn't support DDR4, so next year you'll have to swap everything out. Also DX 12 is rumored to use all the FX series cores, so your processor may become more powerful than my i5K...

(unless Arma)