Need help with FreeNAS setup networking problem SOLVED

so i am running FreeNAS in a Virtualbox virtual machine and am trying to set it up so me and one of my friends who is no where near where i live able to use it. the problem i am having is not setting up the server but figuring out how to set it up to where i can access it from my account and his account from anywhere. i am trying to use either FTP or SSH protocols and am not sure how i can connect from outside of my home network. i have groups already set up and configured just not really anything else. before you comment i know this is not the optimal way to run FreeNAS but at the moment it is as close as i can get and also yes i know there are other options. i am using this for a way to not only learn but to help keep things somewhat secure and secluded from the outside world. Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated considering i am fairly new to the NAS community.

Well you will have to open up a path through your modem/router leading to your FreeNAS VM.

FTP is unencrypted, I would suggest you use sftp (that runs over SSH) and shares port 22 in default. Or even set up a VPN so your friend can connect through that.

i have already opened both ports 21 and 22. i have used the IP that i used to edit the FreeNAS server itself. I am not entirely sure that is the I am supposed to open the ports for

The IP that you use to access the FreeNAS web interface is also the one your services are bound to (ssh, ftp, cifs, ...) It usually is something like 192.168.x.x 10.x.x.x or alike.

So if you have the port forwarding set up correctly the SSH and FTP servers listening should be reachable over your public assigned IP.