Need help to secure my ssh

Im trying to learn linux to a "manage my own server company awesomeness level" but as of right now im still a noob, im working with ubuntu 14.04 server so terminal use only i dont have a gui installed

My main question is what are the necessary steps to secure my ssh port, every guide i look at tells me something different , should i use fail2ban or not?

{everything is running on my lan i have not portforwarded through my roughter yet}
i have no root user only sudo access to my user account
im all up to date
i have openssh installed and running
edited the ssh file to not alow root access
i have arno-iptables-firewall installed and running

Side question, I assume this should make a pretty powerful server to test on? what are my limitations with this rig?. (ive been using oracle on my laptop for the last 6 months this is my first physical dedicated machine as always tho i built it out of spare parts)

The server is running on a fx4100 with 4gb of ram on a 500gb drive on lan w/ 3mbps down & 1.5 mbps up (connection speeds are awful i know ill get that upgraded later in life =) I have no intention of upgrading the rig unless I start making money with my it )

1 Like

yes

good, no root login through ssh period

You could enable root with its own strong password though; so wen your user and the password gets compromised your root isnt as well.

way to go

Very well

I would highly suggest you to switch from password authentication for SSH to public/private key; that way your the most secure;

Depends totally on what your going to run on it - I would suggest you to at least raid1 another harddisk so if one fails your not going down immediately.