Need help getting the best bang for my buck

I would like to preface this by saying that I'm a complete novice when it comes to building a PC and knowing what components I need to get what I want out of my new PC. I'm getting into video editing, and I need a new computer that can do everything that I need at the moment, with school, any other situation I may find myself in. Including of course editing, paper writing, and maybe a bit of gaming. As I said I'm a novice, I have never built a PC before, but unless I have to solder I think I'll be fine. I also don't know much about computer parts, so I don't know what I need, or where to go to look for what I would need. I have about $2500 to spend. Could someone help me with maybe a shopping list, or maybe a trustworthy site that can make me what I need. I appreciate your help guys. thanks. 

Do you know what programs you'll be using to video edit?  It would be good to see if CUDA or OPENCL would accelerate that program.  I'll start a build in the meantime.

Also, building a computer is pretty simple these days.  It's kinda like putting cartridges into different game consoles.  Everything slots or drops together.

Right now we're working with the Adobe Suite. After Effects and Premiere mostly. 

I put together this build for another guy.  It'll make a good baseline for your build.

You could still get a monster of a PC at that price, possibly with a 2011 socket.  I don't know enough about the 2011 socket to give suggestions, so I'll build high end 1150 PC for ye.

-EDITED DUE TO COMMENT BELOW :D-

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1WywZ

Red/Black Theme

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor.  i7, Haswell.  What can I say?

CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler.  Great AIO cooler!

Mobo: MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming ATX LGA1150 Motherboard.  Z87, Really nice VRMs, should be a great overclocker.