Need help choosing software for upcoming server build

I am looking to build a server this fall with the release of all the new hardware(assuming prices are reasonable), that aside I need to figure out what software to run on it. Trying to understand what might be good software options, even if I have to pay for them, that doesn’t really matter if it is reasonable.

I have been using Linux Ubuntu and Windows for over 10 years casually, I am decent with computers. I have run a windows server 2012, 2x debian server and a ubuntu server. However I will say I do not have the enterprise knowledge, I tried to work with both proxmox and vsphere and yea… :face_with_symbols_over_mouth: It did not want to see any drives no matter what I did sooooz, so much for that experiment.

I’ll describe everything I intend to host below but I am going to require ZFS or BTRFS as I do not care to lose my files. My knee jerk thought is either Linux or TrueNas. I did see that UnRaid does offer ZFS via a plugin. I do know having docker or similar does open many easy possibilities so I would like to have it as an option.

This will be a home server and it will have a few parts

1. Media Server - I am considering using JellyFin for this, mostly because I dislike forcing family to pay for a subscription to watch. This I do want to be available remote as I travel extensively and so do other family members and I do not care to be cut off solely because I am on the road. This will be a separate hard drive cluster.
    This will kinda be a x2? Not totally sure but I do want to put my books and music and photos on here as well.

2. File Hosting Cloud backup - all personal stuff for myself and family. I honestly have no clue what to do here, just that it is possible.