Need GPU Advice

Okay, so my GPU has died (Yes, I am sure it was my GPU and not a bad PSU or anything of that nature) and am wondering what my best option would be for replacing it. My max budget is $200. I will mainly be using this card for gaming, mostly things like Skyrim, Diablo 3, Hearthstone, Borderlands, and Assassins Creed. Aside from gaming all I really need it for is some college work like writing essays and stuff like that. I will not be doing any video editing or anything of that nature. Also, I am planning on getting a second monitor so I can run games and also have youtube open on the second monitor. I currently have 8GB of ram, will that be enough? Or will an extra 8GB help? 

Thanks, Mike.

Also, this is my first time, so im sorry if this isnt in the right spot. (pun very much intended)

For 200$ you are in a little bit of an odd zone you would get awfully close to a 280x or a 285 but that isn't really where you want to be for games like Skyrim or the newer Assassins Creeds. If you can swing it and your PSU is able to handle it spring for a 290 the larger Vram buffer along with its high performance will allow you to really max out gaming at 1080p and its good amount of ports and sheer horsepower will let you add more monitors without issue. If you don't want to spend the extra 50$ or so which is understandable a GTX 760, or a R9 285 is where you are at price wise. The green team doesn't really compete all that well at this level as the 760 isn't as good as the 285 which sadly really doesn't offer anything over the 280 or the 280x in fact it has less Vram which is bad for games like Skyrim. depending on your PSU (you will need 600 Watt+ depending on what you have in the system); I would fully endorse finding a way to the 290 level of graphic card. If not try and find a deal on a 280x, I had one and found it can max out most games at 1080p and is really a solid card.