Need an opinion on error

Is there any truth to the explanation given by our software vendor? I asked for better error handling and this is their response. I feel the response is somewhat dishonest to say catch and re-throw is not unhandled exception, so I'm hoping to get a second opinion from y'all programmers here. (I'm not a programmers, so I may be totally wrong.)

"Please note that an error message shown by the application actually is not unhandled exception. In case when a critical error happens (and losing SQL server connection is such a case) we catch a then re-throw exception in a way that allows to display exception content and force the user to close the application. I understand that it looks not very user friendly and we will try in the future to come up with a better solution but for now the message is clear and allows easy troubleshooting since when connection is lost we are not able to insert the exception into the application log."

What they are saying makes sense. If the application has lost connection to the database server then there isn't a connection to reattempt the connection over.

However at what point it should simply give up and how it presents that to the user are what can be debated. Much better the user sees a graceful failure, clicks ok and logs a help-desk ticket than suffers a mild heart attack when presented the raw error message. I also hate it when application errors present connection strings. You might have good reason to keep that hidden - especially from that shit, Bob in finance, who will then spend the rest of the week trying to directly connect Excel to the database...

...I digress