Need advise: sharing files between linux hosts

Hello hive mind,

I am currently contemplating what is the best way to share files and folder between machines. In general sharing them between different operating systems like GNU/Linux, Windows and MacOS would be nice. However if you have a recommendation for a much better technology that does it only between GNU/Linux based systems I am all ears.

I currently have a little bit of experience running a Samba server but I have also heard NFS is the way to use on *NIX based systems. I have no prior experience with NFS (or iSCSI) in regards to it having any advantage over a simple samba share. From my point of view NFS is samba for *NIX and iSCSI are shares for exporting storage units for things like VMs. Input on security aspects would also be appreciated.

What´s wrong with samba though? Maybe NFS is better, i have no idea tbh never felt the need to experiment with NFS given that smb does just fine at maxing out my 1 gbit connection and works everywhere.

Looking from what other people say. It appears SMB is faster (on windows) and NFS is faster for linux/unix based systems. But I haven´t had a problem on any of my Linux machines either. If you wanted to you could do both and use NFS on macOS/Linux and SMB on Windows.

I pretty much just use samba, sftp between machines where it´s not a regular occurance. Sftp is just ftp over ssh, so no setup required besides ssh.

1 Like

NFS is better (easier) on Linux over SMB/CIFS as it has less overhead and is easy to install/configure. I actually use it to mount an NFS share over the LAN from my file-server to my desktop.

4 Likes

To be honest I have no idea if something is wrong with Samba. I find it only tedious to setup. I also have no background information on its security. I had never really looked at other options this is where my questions stems from.

Thank you I will have a look. The configuration process is tiresome with Samba.