Need a little help with c++

Hello everyone, I'm a computer science student who has done a lot of work with Java (what my school teaches) and I'm quite good with it. However every time I look in to things that use java all I read is "java sucks" and "never use java". so now that my classes are done involving java I decided to pick up another language to broaden my skill set and find tools that people wont attack me for using.

Now I am very familiar with Javafx for Gui development and can work with it well, however when researching c++ I found that there is no built in Gui tools. Now I am aware that I have to use a third party library to build a Gui, but is there a library out there that is on par with javafx in terms of cross system compatibility and ease of use? Another problem that I have is I prefer to work in vim and not in an IDE, however while looking at this problem i noticed that all of the gui tools for c++ have their own IDE, am i required to use their ide or can I just download the library like a jar file and run it with the code? I am sorry if this is an overly noob question, but trying to find comparative information about c++ vs java is just leading me to people attacking java and that is frustrating me.

For a cross-platform and open source GUI toolkit for C++, I highly recommend taking a look at QT.

1 Like

but does QT require me to use their own IDE, or can I still use vim?

I'm not aware of a single C++ library that requires you to use an IDE. In general, IDEs are just fancy text editors with autocomplete and compiler support built in.

1 Like

wow, looking at the qt license, it is really restrictive. I have to open source all of the work that I do with it!?

Nope, QT is licensed under the Lesser GNU Public License which states that you may link against the library without open-sourcing your software. You only have to opensource your modifications to QT if you make any and plan on distributing QT.