Need a guide - Installing Ubuntu 14.04 Server and Quassel IRC on an OVH VPS

Hi, guys and gals,

First of all - I am a total linux newb here. I have tried Ubuntu Desktop in a virtual machine a couple of times just to able to say to myself, that I have done that :) but never actually got anywhere and I never properly used it. So basically, no linux experience here at all.

What I would like to do is get a VPS server from OVH:

1 vCore
2.4 GHz
2 GB RAM
10 GB SSD
Local RAID 10
$3.49 /month

And install Ubuntu Server and Quassel IRC core on it, so I can use Quassel client to connect to it and have privacy + bouncer this way. I want Ubuntu Server not some other distro, because my thinking is, I will need to learn and start using linux sooner rather than later, with windows going down the spying road... And I'm 100% sure my first real attempt at using/switching to linux will be Ubuntu Desktop, so it'll be ubuntu server and desktop, less confusion, at least in the beginning. And Quassel, because I tried it and I love it. And it's got a bouncer inbuilt, so no need for another software, like znc. I wanna keep everything as simple as possible in the beginning.

Question: is it feasible for me, again - no linux knowledge at all here. I do not like or use command line, but I know I'll have to and that's OK.

I am worried about security, especially, if I have no idea what I'm doing... There was a time I had many dedicated servers on many different hosts (ovh included), but I used windows server then. Now with this VPS my only choice is linux. The problem is, that back then, even though I used windows server and pretty much new what I was doing, I got hacked. I once found, what I could only assume was a scene dump site ftp running on my server for fuck knows how long. Because I only noticed it, when I found that there was a TB+ folder with scene releases hidden inside my Recycle Bin. Sneaky bastard :)