NAS over internet (DDW-RT?)

Complete noob to networking.

I am wanting to build a NAS from old PC parts so that I can store back-ups on from PC's within the house. But I also want my Dad at his house to have access to the NAS to back up his computer.

Backups will only be of documents and pictures so 1TB in RAID-1 will be more than enough.

Am I right in thinking that at my end (where the NAS will be) that I need my router to be able to run DDW-RT and then my Dad (at his house) will be able to see the NAS at his end? Like a network drive

No, you won't need to use dd-wrt or anything like that to do this. 

There are several ways you can do this, I'll give you some ideas which you can look up and find some guides on which will be much easier than me trying to explain how to set them Up. 

You could use sftp, it's basically a secure version of ftp. So you run an sftp server on your computer and connect to it from your dad's. 

You could set up a VPN server, when your dad connects to it it will be just like being on the local network. I recommend openVPN but if your not too worried about security then PPTP might be easier. 

Bittorrent sync us really easy to set up, if your dad backs up to a folder on his computer you could use bittorrent sync to automatically sync that folder with one on your computer. 

Whichever method you choose you will need to open and forward the necessary ports to your computer on your router. 

I would do the VPN setup, I use OpenVPN on my network and it works fairly hood