NAS New Build Advice v.overloaded October 2020

A newbie around here, I’d like to say hello.

I have been trying to figure out what direction to go for a NAS for the past couple months and frankly, I’m overloaded.

I’ve watched dozens of videos by Wendell and all around as well as r/datahoader, homeless etc.

So I figured, this would be a good place to get insights (maybe Wendell, you can chime in :slight_smile:)

My needs are pretty basic compared to everything ya’ll do.
I need to have high data protection and the ability to edit RAW photos and low bitrate video (100MB/s) directly off my NAS.
I have been using a QNAP for 10 years and it’s relatively ok, but I am starting to worry about bitrot. Also, the interfaces on it are just slow/old (sata2, 1gbe NIC).

I do have some parts I can reuse:

• 2 x 2 TB sata3 SSDs
  • 2 x 1TB m.2 NVME
  • 10Gbe switch

I don’t have a lot of data, < 10TB, and frankly, some will get reduced when I deduplicate.
Originally I was going to use my old NUC skull canyon with the m.2 drives and usb 3.0 external since I just have it laying around, but I’ve realized that was not only sacrilegious, but not a good idea for integrity. Though, I can be convinced otherwise, as I could add a 2.5Gbe NIC via TB…

ZFS or btrfs?
FreeNAS/TrueNAS vs unraid vs standard linux vs OMV?
or prebuild with QNAP / Synology w btrfs?
ECC vs non RAM?
I’d like to keep power usage down and I don’t have use for VMs right now (have a pi running pi-hole, but can consolidate if ya’ll think it’s best), so I don’t need high specs. Frankly, a 2 bay with NVME slots and 10GBE NIC would probably work but I can’t find one.

At the end of the day, I don’t want to have to baby this thing, just for it to run, but I don’t have a lot of $ or space to throw at it. Something that is reliable, usable for local editing and enables me to setup an offsite rsync/rclone or the likes to back blaze or similar.

Thanks in advance if you made it this far!
~semi
freenasmaybe