"Mystic Light" LED Lighting

Hello all!

I’m looking at a new MSI motherboard, which is equipped with “Mystic Light” LED lighting. As near as I can determine, this lighting feature is now all the rage and it can be found incorporated into cases, keyboards and other peripherals.

Sadly, it appears that the software app which controls this feature is only available for the W10 platform. This kinda reminds me of the days before fan control was built into the BIOS/UEFI. :rage: Has anyone had any success running this app in WINE, or do I need to buy a MS license and fire up a VM every time that I want to turn the LEDs on and off? First world problems, eh?

BTW - I noticed that there is a Mystic Light app for phones, but it looks like the PC Mystic Light app also needs to simultaneously running on the PC.

Thanks in advance for your insights.

Disclaimer: I have no experience with this, but:
For something to work in WINE, it first needs to be visible and usable by the underlying Linux. Remember that WINE isn’t anywhere close to being a “real” windows, it just translates Windows API calls to equivalents on Linux (sort of).
In other words: I doubt this will work in WINE just because it still needs a driver, and Linux is missing that.

I was actually always interested if that worked. If you can passthrough the RGB controller then this should work. But then again I’m not sure if that is even possible…

Yes.

On a side note, which board are you using? I know the Gigabyte boards have RGB configuration in the UEFI, I don’t know if MSI has something similar.