Mystery Writes to Harddrive

Hi,

I am very new to self hosting and trying to learn, so please let me know if I missed some critical information.

For a while now I have been looking at something strange on my server:

I am running Proxmox root on a zfs mirror with some VMs on it. All of the VM disks for the VMs are zvols on the first zfs mirror.

The Ubuntu server VM has two VM disks: one for system things on the first mirror and a zvol on a second zfs mirror, only for data.
The data zvol is formatted as ext4 and is mounted within the file system. The data is basically photos and stuff so it does not change much (some hundreds of MB per week) and is shared to the network via samba and also updated via syncthing.

But if I check the diskusage in proxmox I see the following:

So the disk seems to run “full” until the weekly fstrim cuts it back down again. I thought this would be normal if you have a lot of writes, due to zfs being a COW filesystem. But I am not updating data on the drive, so I do not understand where the 100+GB per week of extra data is coming from?

Here some details:
on host

zfs list
NAME                                     USED  AVAIL     REFER  MOUNTPOINT
entropool                                564G   358G       96K  /entropool
entropool/vm-100-disk-0                  551G   358G      319G  -
qm config 100
agent: 1
boot: order=scsi0;net0
cores: 4
memory: 8046
name: fred
net0: virtio=FA:3D:FB:43:C3:72,bridge=vmbr0,firewall=1
numa: 0
onboot: 1
ostype: l26
parent: before_installing_3700X
scsi0: local-zfs:vm-100-disk-0,discard=on,size=100G
scsi2: entropool:vm-100-disk-0,backup=0,discard=on,size=900G

on guest

# my entrodota mount
/dev/disk/by-uuid/123456 /mnt/entrodata ext4 defaults 0 0

I would be grateful for any points in the right directions/explainations :slight_smile:

I am just giving this a small bump, maybe someone has some idea how to further investigate? :slightly_smiling_face: