My University is Releasing Student Personal Info "For The Public"

I want to start by saying that right now I am not really sure what is going on, as I do not have the e-mail that was sent to my English Professor (who mentioned it in his class). I hope I do receive the e-mail, as it has all of the information.

On to the actual content. While in my English class today (I'm a Freshman in 101), we we're going over our new e-book and digital homework systems and the professor opened up an e-mail. This e-mail contained a message, that should go out to students, but apparently has not (yet, hopefully). It was written to explain how the University is going to release a lot of personal information about us students, not sure if that includes faculty. Since I don't have the e-mail in front of me right now, I'm going to list off a few of the things that are said to be released that I can remember.

Name, address, phone numbers, e-mail (not sure if student e-mail, personal, or both), age (possibly on what year of school), a picture, and that was only maybe half of what was listed.

If I do not recieve the e-mail in the next couple days, I will ask my Professor to forward it to me. The thing that irritated me most is that they don't really say why they are doing this, and are having us jump through hoops to opt-out.

This whole thing really shocked me, and I was wondering if anyone else has experienced anything like this at their school, workplace, or wherever?

EDIT: I guess my Professor has some mind-reading ability, because right as I posted this I got the e-mail forwarded to me. I guess it wasn't really an e-mail, but something that was posted on our Notices in what is like a "central hub" website for students and staff. Here is most of the message (footer omitted, etc)

Public Notice - Student Directory Information