My thoughts on Linux after 2 months and why I'm going back to Windows

I have been using Linux Mint as my primary OS for about 2 months now, and I thought I would come here to give you my thoughts on the experience.

At first I loved it. I set everything up just the way I wanted it. I thought that the design was sleek, and I loved all the options that I had. I learned a lot by messing stuff up and using the terminal to fix it.

However, I am probably going to switch back to Windows for the time being. I'm going to list the big reasons why

Gaming - I have a Radeon 7770 (GHz Edition) as my video card. As you all know, AMD drivers on Linux are terrible. A lot of my games do support Linux, but the performance disadvantage of using Linux was so big that I just used Windows for all my gaming even if the game did support Linux.

I did some benchmarks against the 2 OS's to show the difference. I used Unigine Valley with Ultra settings at 1080p, and tried it on Windows with Direct X and OpenGL, and on Linux Mint with OpenGL

Windows DX: 19.3 FPS
Windows GL: 16.7 FPS
Linux GL: 9.7 FPS

That's a 66.2% difference in FPS between Windows DX and Linux GL, and a 53% difference between Windows GL and Linux GL.

Software Compatibility - I have to use a lot of software that is not avalible on Linux. Such software includes SketchUp and PaintNET. I have tried alternatives for both, and I just didn't like any of them. I've spent a lot of time trying to get both to work in WINE, but with no luck. I do have a Windows VM running in Linux, but with my low end PC, running a VM hardly makes sense. However, there is some linux-only software that I enjoyed. One of those was RhythmBox, which I would take over Foobar anyday. But when it comes down to it, there's not much that I can run in Linux but not in Windows, but a lot that I can run in Windows but not Linux.