My New Home Router

Hello!

As the title states, I'm building a new router for my apartment.

The specs of the rice cooker is the following.

• Intel Pentium G4560 KL
  • ASUS H110M-A/M.2
  • Intel Pro/1000CT
  • 4GB of DDR4
  • Kingston UV400 120GB (Well i like logs... :japanese_ogre:)

So i want to run pfSense on it, and i dont believe that it would be a problem. But do you guys have any idea of how I could utilize the setup? :wink:

I'm new with pfSense in terms of, I have some/no knowledge of the OS, amd I want to be adept with it. :slight_smile:

I want to use the server/router for VPN (to my LAN), DHCP, NAT/Port forward and snort... Because you never know... :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

That hardware sounds more than adequate to get you started. If you're actually buying these parts, you may want to ensure that your CPU supports AES-NI. It's not required right now, but will be down the road at version 2.5.

I think this series will get you up to speed pretty quickly.

2 Likes

Just checked, the Pentium G4560 does support AES-NI so he's all good :smiley:

4 Likes

I had an old cabinet laying around (Corsair 350D), and i got a god deal that i could not say no to. :slight_smile:

And thanks for the link, this looks very good.

Thanks for the help! I would be very sorry if it did not... :smiley:
But where did you check it? :slight_smile:

Towards the bottom where it says AES New Instructions.

3 Likes

It is off topic but AMD needs to do something like the ark.
As much shit I give Intel for their pricing and stuff, ark is fucking awesome.

2 Likes

You need to help me with this one @noenken.

Ark is basically Intel's archive for technical information about any product they made.
AMD does have their product pages but nothing close to this.

3 Likes

Oh yeah that is true. :confused:

Well, everything is up and running now!

Are there any plugins you guys recommend? :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Snort for sure!