My Java code is sloppy and I need tips on makeing it neater. Where do I start?

Disclaimer: I am new to the level1forums (and forums in general) ; however I have been following level1techs on YouTube for a year now, so please bare with me.

A Bit of Context

My Java professor is of the opinion that as long as a piece of code works I shouldn't worry about what it looks like. So when I go to ask him questions about how to make my java program more readable he brushes me off with, "As long as it works it doesn't matter." To top it off our class only meets once a week and the professor works full time at another university. He assigns projects due the next class with no time in between to ask specific questions.

Aside from my qualms with the professors teaching method, I am having a problem understanding how to apply simple java mechanics to larger problems. This leads to me piecing together code I find on the internet with little understanding of how my code works.

The Problem

We have currently been assigned to program Conway's Game of Life without using graphics. My program currently evaluates the first 3 rules of GOL; however I feel like the implementation could be much better and the code could look much neater.

The Question

So my question is...

How can I make this code more readable and what resources can I use to make my code better in the future?

code file 1: https://hastebin.com/nonocewume.java
code file 2: https://hastebin.com/upilacosik.java

ps: Iā€™m not looking for a better implementation, Iā€™m looking for how to improve my code. Feel free to give me any tips on how to ask questions better :slight_smile:

It probably wonā€™t mean much, but I am going to go ahead and qualify myself somewhat.