My i7 920

Hey guys i am new around here (well been lurking for a while ^^)

i recently bought a i7 920/gigabyte ud5 ect ect, still using the stock cooler but i noticed my temperatures are abnormally high. this is my first build so i have reseated the heatsink 3 times thinking it was me. Then i decided to look for other alternatives to the reason for a high temperatures found my voltage was @ 1.25v and i read the default was 1.2v so i changed that.

now my temps were @ 70's idling after booting into windows, now i decided to try something i lowerd the vcore to 1.1 and my temps went to the high 60's, i went back and changed it to 1v and now they idle @ 50/50/47/47 and at load 68/67/64/63(was too scared previously to run it on full load...). i have disabled speedstep and all that my question is

1)will i damage it by going lower?
2)should i go lower?
3)what do you think i did wrong?
4)could it be an iffy chip?

thanks for reading
PSÂ perhaps u could help me more if i removed the heatsink took a picture then you experianced guys can tell me whether or not it was seated correctly?

Edit: i can run cinebench and it doesnt crash (loads faster then it before too)
EDIT2: Pic;
EDIT3: Ok now i am REALLY confused, i upped the bclk to 144 with turboboost its now @ 3Ghz and idling @ 46/44/44/44 going to 42/43 full load it peaked at 65 then went no higher... oh and i am using stock cooler btw

Ok well i have a i7 920 and at full load it doesnt go over 60 degrees and mines at base clock of 175 at 1.232 volts     standard settings no turbo boost enabled.   I would reccomend buying a Noctua cooler as this will drastically help you and become stable

thanks, i got it @ 3ghz now with 0.928v and its running fine (dont have time to properly test it) my xigmatek dark knight is arriving on fri so i should be good ot go then :D. i didnt even wanna oc it on the stock cooler, glad i did fiddle with it tho as it now runs on full load what it idled on before xD