My First Build (help needed)

Hi,

My location is the UK and I normally use Windows.

After a lot of research and banging my head against the wall I am still unsure the best way forward, I hope the teksyndicate forums can come to the rescue!!

A little background.

I work as an engineer (for my sins) within my role I am required to use applications like Autodesk Revit, and other 3d/calculation intensive program; also, as I am starting a part time Masters Degree over the next 3 years.

My plans.

Reliability is important to me. This machine will be getting a lot of use. Of course I would like to run the latest games at high settings (FPS, MMO, basically all wide variety of games) too, however, I currently have 2 BenQ 1080p (120Hz) gaming monitors which I am happy with, therefore, this machine will not need to be capable of anything higher, but I would like the option to upgrade a few parts if needs be a year down the line if I want to experiment with higher resolutions. I do not need any peripherals. Water cooling I think may be necessary for this build as I would like to have the option to overclock.

Another consideration.

I would like compatibility with Linux to allow dual boot? Or with this machine would a VMachine be a safer option?

I like the look of the new X99 platform, however, I am not sure if this would be overkill or not? I would like to know what I would have to sacrifice but going for a smaller form factor and if staying with a full size desktop would be a better solution? Also, I would like to incorporate and SSD into this build.

As for my budget....

What do you think is a reasonable amount of money to hit the sweet spot on this build? I don't want to unrealistic either way.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!

I would say:

Full ATX build:

Case: Fractal Design R4

Mobo: Asus Z97 Deluxe

CPU: i7 4770k

RAM: 16GB of anything from corsair, adata, kingston and crucial

GPU: Gigabyte 780Ti

SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256GB (for OS)