My experience as a noob with linux

I would like to start by saying that I am a noob when it comes to linux or working with computers and operating systems. I however am willing to try almost anything which most of the time means me breaking it and having to figure out how to fix it, but that is the best way to learn. So with that said I started my path to using linux by doing probably one of the hardest things a complte noob could do and hancked a original xbox to rum XBMC and emulators for old school games. I did get that working after several weeks of screwing it up. My next task was to turn my Hp probook 4540s into a hanckintosh, that I have to say was so much easier than modding the xbox, but it may have had something to do with the experience gained from dealing with the issues with the xbox and learning how a file system worked.

I spent some time within Apples walled garden of computer, ipad and iphone. I then reliazed that a company which I had long admired for the simplistic and stable systems, had changed their business model from being one that looked after the customers and produced long lasting products to a model of trapping their customers and making them completely dependent on their products. So I was left with a decision to make, either become another cash cow for apple by staying locked into their system or look for something else. Unfortunately for me the only other option was to go back to windows and its constant updating and bluescreen crashes from every virus known to man.