My Battery Powered Car Project for University Please Help!

Hi guys,

At the moment i’m studying Mechanical Engineering at University and i’m in my first year, i’m looking to go on and do my doctorate eventually and I want to start working on a project now, this may sound a bit wild and far fetched but I want to design and make my own electric car, now this car I will fit with a Tesla electric charging port, now where i’m stuck is finding material on the Tesla car in terms of its battery cell storage tech and the way all the electronics come together to work in harmony. I’m looking for material to educate me on several things to do with this, I also want to create a touch infotainment system for the car as well which controls most of the cars mechanics and what else comes with an infotainment system. If you guys could recommend any material I could read on these areas which I am lacking at or any guides or anything that can help, Im also going to be recording my journey and I will be publishing it on YouTube on my own channel and I will mention everyone who has helped me in my journey for my masters thesis. Also what coding languages should I learn, what books should I read etc

Thank you in advance to anyone who has helped and it will never be forgotten!!!

So My understanding is that the Tesla cars are still using 18650 cells in large banks there are more than a few Guides and companies out there that make custom EV or EV conversions a forum like this may be a better place for the mecanical end of things http://www.diyelectriccar.com/

In terms of the Infotainment system you may want to see how or what you can bolt/mod onto a cheap Android car audio system. like an EinCar system or maybe check out the Kodi Car computer option that is out there http://www.ardumotive.com/raspberry-car-pc.html

1 Like

I’ve done a lot of research on this actually since it’s a dream project of mine… some day when I have a garage.