Multi CPU setups?

Does anyone have a multi-CPU setup? WHen I was like 12 one of my friends got some sort of computer from his dad's work that had like 2 pentium 4's in it or something like that. Could have been a Xeon box too but I don't really remember all too well.

Can you do like a modern desktop with Dual CPU's? Would it be better to have 2, 4 core CPU's than 1 8 core?

I can imagine that would be an awesome rig but all I can think of for having Dual CPU's are the Xeon E5 boards right now.

Thats pretty much it. Dual socket boards are typically only for servers and usually high end ones. And they typically need Xeons of the 2xxx variety and not the 1xxx, so more expensive.

Aww 3:

I am by no means an expert or have even looked this up this is just from what I remember. I just don't expect there to be a homegamer type setup with dual sockets.

1 Like

There are dual socket ATX (or E-ATX) boards. Typically used for workstations but there's no reason you couldn't use it for gaming. Pretty sure with modern intel CPUs you need to use xeons but there's nothing wrong with that.

1 Like

I was wrong about ATX but here's one https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Z10PED8_WS/

It is not just Xeons. There are multi CPU boards in the server market, as the others said. I have not seen such thing, but I have heard about quad AM3+ mobo, that basically cost as much as the high end Asus AM3+ boards. I can only dream what this thing and 4x8320e will be able to do in rendering and multitasking... Total of 32 cores, 32 threads, 400W of power for the CPUs only but God damn... Price to performance of this thing will be awesome...

I'm using a HP Z800 equipped with 2 x Xeon X5677 quad core processors. These are pretty much the same as the Core i7-9xx CPU's from the same time period (2010-2011) just before the Sandybridge processors launched.