MSI Modern 14 B4M (Renoir) Ultrabook

To Level1tech team: a review proposal.

I have been looking for a new laptop, and based on recent CPU launches from intel and amd, I am most certainly settled on getting an amd 4000 u-series thin & light laptop.
I don’t care too much about gaming on a laptop, I need it for work (software development) and I need it to be mobile and small (exactly 14" display) and as upgradable as possible, especially RAM.
I came across this option from MSI (still not released at the moment) and I love it.
It is a perfect fit for my requirements, officially supporting 64GB of memory through two sodimm 3200 MHz slots, some militarty standard certified for durability, lightweight & thin, good enough battery, good enough dispkay, keyboard backlight, etc… And really good value (starting at $650)
I have no prior experience with MSI laptops, I am not too concerned about build quality since MSI is a reputable brand, but I am really concerned about linux compatibility.
I am most concerned about audio drivers, webcam, keyboard backlight and shortcuts and a little concerned about wifi drivers.
So I though since MSI usually sends you parts for review, and obviously you happen to be the best channel to review linux related subjects, I am REALLY hopeful that you can review this laptop, if it works OK, I will definitely buy it, and I am sure many others will do as well based on your review … If it doesn’t work, well I think it is an interesting laptop for many people and worth reviewing anyway … At the end not everybody uses linux desktop. I have been using it for over 18 years, and it’s not changing soon :slight_smile:
If there are other suggestions, please mention in comments, I think the new HP Probook 445 G7 is a good option and usually everything runs ok out of the box on HP laptops, but I don’t like that they are officially supporting only 32Gb ram instead of 64, and it’s a little on the heavy side for its class.

Thanks in advance.

@wendell