MSI GTX 670 Power Edition 1440p?

Hello, all! 

I have a MSI GTX 670 Power Edition running at stock clock (will OC help?). I have loved the card to death so far, no FPS problems at all (except Crysis 3 with MSAA 8x, lol). Even TES V with over 100 mods runs smooth as butter even at ultra.

My question is, I was thinking about picking up a 1440p monitor (Like the X-star or Shymian (spelling?) that Logan has been reviewing recently). Will my GPU be able to handle that resolution in game? I would still like to play games like MLL and BF3 and TES V and so on at max settings (even if I have to turn down the AA some).

I really want to break into the 1440p world, but don't want to spend the cash if I will only run at around 20-30 FPS...(VRAM wall D:)

Current monitor:  Cheepo Acer 1080p

Thank you for any and all input in advance!!

--Ryland                    

First I'm no expert, just wanted to point that out. You should be fine for 1440p. You just may have to tone some settings down. Gaming at that high of a res puts a big emphasis on bus size and VRAM amount. That's why in some of the videos logan explains that the radeon hd cards tend to perform better at resolutions higher than 1080p. I would think that your card would still perform well but as I mentioned, you would probably have to turn down some of the settings and filters. Hopes this helps. :)

PS: I was thinking about trying to get into the 1440p world also. I'm just trying to figure out if it'll be worth the investment right now or if I should hold out. x-D

me too...i waiting for the right monitor. seeing all are out of my price range at the moment. hopefully price goes down since 4k it the next big thing you kno.

my 7950 with its sexy 3gb is dying for 1440p to spread its wings

If you OC some that 670 out performs a stock 680 so I think you will be fine at 1440p just keep the AA down a little to help with frame rate.  (you really should not need AA that much any way with higher pixel density)