Mousepad what do you like?

Hello guys i'm working in a totaly new periferal setup and i was thinking of getting a mousepad and since i am pretty new to mousepads (i used none for the last 5-6 years) i would like some advice. What do you think is a good mousepad and why? and also whats is the difference between a hard surface and a soft surface?

It will make a big difference - Personally I like a soft pad and have a Minonix Sargas 900 and a few steelseries. These both have good build and size for my needs

ok when i was younger i oftenly liked the soft cloth mousepads (sorry for not mentioning this earlier) i read a lot about the steelseries QcK do you maybe have any experience with it because im looking into a mousepad of around the size of a Qck and a Qck+

Yeah I have one of those mats and its great - not mush more to say about it 

ok ill probably buy a Qck a Qck+ is a little to big for my liking and its only 10 euros thanks for the help.

I'm loving my razer sphex, though it's not technically a mouse pad.

I like my Razer Goliathus extended... no need to fear than in game you suddenly slip off mouse pad's edge.. :d

I use hard mouse pads primarily. However, I recently bought an Xtrac Ripper XXL, and it is awesome being able to cover my entire desk! It works well, but I still keep my Func 1030 XL on top of it to use as my main mouse pad.

I was split between steelseries qck and XTRAC Ripper.  I ended up getting a XTRAC Ripper pad. Things huge, soft, and records my lazer mouse accurately, can't beat it for $13-14. #noregrets.  It's a mouse pad, what more could you want it to do... increase your FPS and make you sandwiches? :P

+1 for the Razer Goliathus. Using this mouse pad with a 6400dpi is insanely accurate and large enough to accomodate even the lowest sensitivity gamer.