Mouse pointers and other general issues - new user

Alright lets get started I've installed ubuntu maybe 2 hours ago and have been trouble shooting ever since, firstly grub 2 was giving me some issue regarding normal.mod, fairly simple fix, took me about an hour cuz im slow but whatever powered through it. Now my mouse pointer is stuck on the top left corner of the screen while my actual mouse can move freely, ie hold down left mouse button on the desktop and move to actually know where you're clicking ( I've checked if the mouse is working, if its correctly plugged in, and if its recognized ). I'm fairly new to ubuntu ( ran ubuntu like 4 years ago for a server but never worked on anything besides that ) so if you want me to check something for you just tell me what commands to run. I also want to know how i can set the refresh rate to 144 by default ( and not just run xrandr after every restart ) and how to turn mouse accel off

Thanks a lot in advance

Ive found a way to fix this, the fix to 2/3 of the issues is the display driver, the nouveau open source driver seems to add 1. mouse imput lag 2. general worse performance and 3. the mouse pointer not moving. IT adds the refresh rate toggle also so i dont need to run xrandr every log in. i still need help turning off mouse acceleration though.

Can you post your system specs, including monitor and resolution? Without knowing your hardware, it's a bit tough to help troubleshoot.

That said, if you're using an Nvidia card, I'd recommend installing the proprietary drivers from nvidia.

You can follow this guide here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto/Nvidia

Hopefully this helps. Also, which version of Ubuntu are you on? there are a few different options, but you're probably on 16.04 or 16.10.

I'll be checking the thread periodically, but I'm at work right now, so there's only so much time I can spend on it.

Hey! sorry for the late reply