Motherboard For Virtualization of Simultanious OS

Hey there,

Just wanted to put forth that I am new to this idea and I am not familiar with too much of the terminology, so I apologize if this has been discussed many times before - I tried search what I do know.

Here’s the plan; I am looking at upgrading my main machine to a Ryzen 1700X and what comes along with that. I will be coming from a i7 - 4770K so I am used to 4 cores 8 threads, which brings me to what I really want to do. From my rough understanding of virtual computing I would theoretically be able to allocate 4c 8t to one virtual OS and the other 4c 8t to the other virtual OS as well as each getting a dedicated GPU - I basically want to just be able to switch inputs on my monitor to switch OSes, no rebooting. I am looking for the best motherboard that can help make this happen, here’s a more specific breakdown of what I want to do.

Also, I believe I would need to allocate a core to the actual virtualization OS, so one of the OSes would be down a core I guess. Not sure on that.

OS One - Windows 10:

4 Cores; 8 Threads preferable
Dedicated GTX 1070, solely dedicated to the Windows machine.

OS Two - macOS/Hackintosh: - calm down, I like macOS okay, I’m a simple man. I tried Arch, got into it, but the lack of general Linux support gets me.

4 Cores; 8 Threads preferable
Dedicated GTX 770, solely dedicated to the macOS machine. Maybe a RX570 when they’re not overpriced - if that ever happens.

I was originally looking at picking up a Gigabyte Aorus AX370 Gaming 5, but after watching the review on that it sounds like that motherboard might present issues for what I want to accomplish. (https://youtu.be/UDpsKzSmL-I?t=5m56s)

Do you guys have any recommendations on a motherboard that can accomplish this without a huge amount of hassle? I understand there’s going to be a good amount of overhead to accomplish and maintain a machine like this, but something that at least allows me to accomplish this task.