Most Linux-friendly X470 board (brand and/or model)?

Hello all,

apologies if this should’ve gone in “Build a PC”, I’ll probably make a thread there, but for now it’s just about the board. I’ve been using Linux and building computers for over 20 years, though the Linux ones were mostly headless and in any case it’s been a few years, so I’d like to get up to speed.

The project is a Linux (probably Ubuntu or Mint) desktop & gaming PC. Anything that won’t work natively / via Wine &c. will have to use a Windows VM, so GPU passthrough is a must. I know that all X470 boards should more or less work, question is, which will run like they were built for Linux? Details, like:

• Will it boot without having to jump through hoops (Secure Boot, …)?
  • Can the BIOS be updated without Windows and how is the BIOS support in general?
  • Do the various board features – fan control, LED control (“off” is fine), fan speed, voltage & similar read-outs, … – work in Linux (or does the BIOS do a nice-enough job)?
  • Are the IOMMU groupings as nice as can be?
  • Is it decent quality (VRM design, …)?
  • Does the manufacturer at least acknowledge that Linux users exist (if not support them officially)?

TIA

Any motherboard that allows you to flash the bios without a CPU would support updating the bios without windows. All of them work perfectly with Linux in general. As for the VRM quality for x470, go with the MSI boards as most of them are good.

Hi,

You probably have seen it before, if not then here is great guide: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMJoLyrWa7E If you do need to overclock then when he speaks about overclock replace that with VRM quality :wink:

Thank you and have a nice day.