Monitoring Cisco asa firewall problem when updated monitoring server

Hello there,

I’m working on a project for a small office. The office was monitoring a infrastructure with Nagios Core on a CentOS 5 server. The project was to update the underlying OS to CentOS 7. Well… Pulled that of, everything works fine except for the Cisco hardware the company has. I am not a Linux expert at all, but I had some courses. I was wondering if you guys had any idea. I think the problem lays in the SNMP difference with CentOS 5 and 7. although I have no idea what difference there is. If so, could you guys explain how to make the script for it.

I manage ASA’s but not a linux person, but reading your post I can’t see what specific issue you’re having? Can you clarify? You’re wanting SNMP data from your ASA to be pulled by centos?

I think the problem lies in the Cisco management software, either it needs to be upgraded or when you upgraded to CentOS 7 you corrupted Cisco management Software. It is probably just some simple little checkbox that needs to be clicked or some dependency that either wasn’t installed correctly or is not installed by default. If I were you I would contact Cisco tell them what you did and see if they can help you further. I would think the problem wouldn’t be in SNMP if we are talking about the same network protocol. I found a YouTube video that led me to what I thought what the problem is. Keep in mind I am no expert in network protocols and I am just starting to get a feel for how Linux works.

1 Like

Is anything else monitored with SNMP?

There might be other things, but lets first get your Cisco equipment working first. That is the reason I said the best thing to do is get support from Cisco. Your company should have a contact person that works for Cisco or is familiar with Cisco products tell them you updated Centos and see what you need to update.