Mesh network volunteers

I'm looking for a small number of volunteers to help build a secure mesh network using openvpn and dnscrypt along with some other possible security functions and software, something similar to PORTAL. I'm pretty new to information security so setting up an encrypted mesh network would take a considerable amount of time. I may be willing to ship raspberry pi's to function as node hardware, however you would have to supply the SD card and peripherals. Nothing is concrete and I made this post just to see if anyone was actually interested. I honestly don't trust any vpn service within the US and would like data to be more decentralized in case of a security breach. Anyone interested can contact me at [email protected] or just reply to this post.

Can you provide some more information about a "PORTAL" configuration?

Otherwise I'm assuming the configuration will be similar like a chain of VPNs leaking onto the internet, or a closed network (darknet) that holds data in a decentralized manner. The first is called Torr, the second is called Freenet and we are better off helping to implement those systems by setting up Torr relays and random freenet nodes (that can totally run inside VMs) than to homebrew anything.

http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2014/08/a-portable-router-that-conceals-your-internet-traffic/

PORTAL helps obfuscate encryption and gives a defence against this (Below), and some of the software, if not all, can be used with openvpn.

http://www.theverge.com/2013/12/18/5224130/fbi-agents-tracked-harvard-bomb-threats-across-tor

Tor is almost completely broken because of the exit nodes, among other things. Freenet is ok but it's not perfect, it will most likely be running the back-end for the network.