Making a laptop dock for Samsung phones with Dex

I do almost everything on my phone since it’s very powerfull and always on me, but I recently started learning about Web development, and trying to do that without a keyboard isn’t something I even wanted to try, but I remembered playing with Dex on my phone and liking it quit a bit, so I checked the Play Store for programing app, and was surpised that I had a few options. I gave a couple a try and the first impressions wern’t too bad, so here we are. I’m planning on making laptop dock for my phone.

TL;DR: I use my phone for everything, and after this I’ll be able to use it for web dev on the go (hopefully).

I’m just getting started, but I’ve gathered a few things for this build already (screen, keyboard, USB C dongle with HDMI, USB C, USB 3).

I’ve taken the screen apart and there’s lots of room to slim it down, and now I have an idea of what I’m working with.

Notice that conveniently long ribbon cable. I’ll be able to put the monitor controller in the base if I want.

If I remove those jacks other then HDMI that board will get a fair bit slimmer.

Could have gotten a bigger keyboard. I think I’d like a usb one better anyways, so I might have to get a different one.

I made this post on this setup.

8 Likes

I require more updates now!

1 Like

Lol. That’s what this thread is for. I’ll post about it as I go.

1 Like

What is the display the you are using?

Kinda looks like it is from one of those portable DVD players. But at the same time no, as it is too big.

Nah, I got it off Amazon. It’s a 11.6" 1920x1080, but unfortunately it has a very matte screen, so even though it’s sharp (for the size) it looks soft.

I kinda wish I went with a 13" 1440p screen for $50 more, but I’m satisfied with this one.

3 Likes

Now to go through my 18650s and look into safely charging them while still being able to use the laptop dock.