Macs for hacking?

I have been watching a lot of videos of top hackers in the world showing what can be achieved with hacking and what can be prevented. I have noticed that all of them except one had mac book pros. Why so? is there an advantage to macs vs p.c.'s for hacking? wouldn't Linux be king? I am new to hacking and just trying to get all the info i can. 

OS X is unix that 'just works'.

Most probably those guys don't want to use windows and don't want to waste their time solving issues with running desktop linux (because they have actually important work to do), so OS X is the most reasonable thing for them.

And well, macbooks have decent hardware.

True but there are a lot of rock solid Linux distros now but doing a little working around in the mac would be easier. I just thought that a slim gaming laptop for half the price of a mac book pro with Linux would be better suited for finding exploits. 

Mostly its the all metal build quality of the Mac laptops and that OS X has a usable terminal, emacs and the MacPorts repo of Linux and BSD software that runs on OS X that they after.

Just look at any Linux conference, theres tons of glowing apples going around, though they are at least dual booting Linux and OS X, though many devs are tri booting Windows as well.

So if i were to look at a Linux distro for this, what would you recommend? I admit I am a bit of a P.C. fan boy but I have in the past owned macs and was quite happy with the software but disappointed in the hardware. I even have OSX 10.8 on my main rig with windows. 

I'd start with Mint, personally I like the older look and feel of the Mate desktop edition, though you may like the Cinnamon desktop version, under the hood they are the same, the only difference is the desktop manager. You can change desktop managers on a whim, just some people don't like to have the excess packages installed if they don't need them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdYF_R6Ulh8