M.2 PCI-E Adapters Both Platforms

Just curious… If you have a PCI-E adapter that support 2, 3, or 4 m.2 slots, do you still have to have a mobo that supports the x4 by 4 slot config? If not, will it mount 4 NVMe drives in separately in Windows or as all one drive? Maybe not mount the drives at all? Trying to make sure that before I invest in a setup I can pipe as many NVMe drives to the CPU as possible.

Thanks for the feedback!

Unless it is a raid controller too they should not show up as one drive.

Though I have no experience with this at all.

In my experience the adapter will pass the drive straight through to the OS, even if the MB does not natively support M.2.
Bear in mind how many drives you want on the adapter, compared to how many it is wired for, I.E. an adapter wired at pixie x4 with 2 sockets may limit each socket to 2 lanes of pice.
This is still faster than SATA, but if you want 4 drives, make sure the card is wired at 16x, or it will be bottlenecked

1 Like

There are two main types of PCIe add-in-card -> M.2 adapters:

• “Dumb” ones, that only route what lanes are available to 1 or more M.2 drives. If only x8 is available from the slot, you can only use 2 M.2 slots on the adapter even if it has more than that. If the slot is only x4, only 1 M.2 is usable.

• Adapters with a PLX chip that take what lanes are available and use a switch to distribute the bandwidth to multiple M.2 devices. In this case, no matter what the number of lanes from the slot is, you can use all the M.2 slots.

If you have a “dumb” adapter, motherboard support for bifurcation (either x16 to x4/x4/x4/x4 or x8 to x4/x4) is absolutely needed. Compatibility will be better (but not guaranteed) for adapters with a PLX.