Looking to jump into Linux

I am trying to learn some new things within the IT support area.

I am a Desktop support technician and I have only been working in the windows realm, however I would like to expand my knowledge as to keep relevent in the IT world.

Can anyone recomend the best flavor of Linux to begin with? You know something easy to manipulate.

Also any recomended Linux beginers guides that are easy for someone like me?

Thanks in advance

It all depends on the field you want to do support in. If it's mainly enterprises, you'll probably want to use an RPM-based distro like Fedora or OpenSuSE.

If it's consumer support, you'll probably want to use a consumer distro, like Ubuntu or Mint or anything based thereof.

If you need to do both, Debian is probably a good choice.

If you need to support education and science/research, you also definitely have to know Arch next to RPM-based distros.

To start out with, I always recommend Manjaro linux these days. It's easy to use, lightweight, rolling release without breakage, has the basic but familiar XFCE DE, is fully arch compatible, has several installers, the Mint display manager, comes with all the proprietary-but-ever-so-useful software regular users like, like proprieatry graphics drivers, flash, Steam, etc... and it doesn't have the bugs, spyware, security issues, USB problems and resource hunger of Ubunty with Unity, plus it's based on arch, which is a great way to learn GNU/Linux quickly and thoroughly if you want to step into advanced knowledge.

It's perfectly normal for an advanced linux user to have several distros at the same time and switch distros often. I would also recommend that to stay on top of the evolution of the different GNU/Linux families.