Looking to get a cheap server for my needs

I was looking around and saw that getting an older server wasn't too expensive. I need a nas so I was thinking something with freenas or linux and btrfs with owncloud and syncthing. I was also thinking of doing several virtual machines to do some web development and running something like sirius personal assistant. I would also like to have 2 gigabit ethernet ports so I can forward my internet connection to my PC. I would really love to get some hands on experience on enterprise hardware as I know very little on it.
I'm not too sure how much power I would need and was thinking of having 2 1 Tb sata drives for now and possibly having a 300Gb 15k drive for VMs. I am currently a student and would like to have an option that is around $400 (Without Drives). Also, how would I go about forwarding my ethernet port to my PC? Is there anything special I have to do to connect normal sata drives? Would this kind of workload benefit from having a lot of cpu cores or ram?
Any advice is appreciated, I'm looking for help on the hardware as well as the setup. Was looking here:

I'm currently a university student and I am tight on budget.

Hi, I'm also on the fence if I should buy an old Server/Workstation for nearly the same reasons like you. I have some concerns about old xeon's and gpu pass through to my vm's ... with your budged you should get some amd fx stuff too ... some mobos should support ecc if redundancy is a concern for you.

Currently I have a GA-990FXA-UD3 and FX 8320e @4.4 with 16gb fast non ecc ram ... with 2-3 vm's running in vbox I never have an issue on ubunut 15.04 with a moderate small business workload.

You also can throw some nic's on the pci-e and a ssd for speed.

If you need really more power take the advice form @moneylotion