Looking Glass dual VMs on dual-GPU card

Hi,

Linux noob here, but with ambitions. Long-ish story below to describe the motivations for the problem.

I’m in the process of building a 4-GPU VM machine for a LAN party box. My friends and I have a tradition of doing a LAN once or twice a year, but since most of the gang is traveling, we have had to scrounge for computers the last few times or just do without.

My solution, inspired by the LTT and Level1 videos on Unraid/VFIO/PCIe passthrough, is to do a 4x gaming VM setup for a nice LAN-in-a-box, each VM (Windows 10) with its own GPU and mouse/keyboard/usb/monitor…and that’s where it’s getting a little complicated.

My plan was to use an EVGA SR-2 (dual socket mobo, 7 pcie, plus overclocking support) because A) cheapish B) know the X58 platform C) cool factor. It will happily support 4x GPU but in doing so it blocks the remaining 3 unused PCIe slots. I’d like to be able to run a USB3 pcie card and an SAS HBA at minimum (former is because there is insufficient USB, latter is because SATA 2.0 support through the ancient chipset)…which physically cannot be done with 4x dual-slot GPUs. The board has its own issues with iffy virtualization support (e.g., NF200 PCIe bridges) but am going to try anywya.

So…that brings me to my next brainwave-- what about a dual-GPU card, e.g. the R9 295x2? I would be able to free up a PCIe slot pair if I can use the dual GPU as separate GPUs. The 295x2, for those who don’t know, is a dual-GPU AMD card that is essentially two individual R9 290x cards cross-fired together via an on-board Pcie multiplex chip.

Some furious googling later and I learned that the R9 295x2 might be an excellent candidate as each GPU (and audio driver!) has its own IOMMU group AND its own device. Apparently I can’t link to the post on the unraid forums showing that.