Looking for powered speakers

Hi all,

I'm looking for some decent powered speakers that can be used in my office. These will primarily be plugged into my desktop, so I'm not looking for something super expensive. I'm currently looking at these speakers, but I'm not experienced in this area. Not married to these by any means, but something in this form factor would be nice.

My office is relatively small, about 10x12ft, so I'm really not looking for something super loud. More important to me is frequency response and quality of the sound.

TL;DR:
Budget US$100ish
Powered bookshelf speakers for use with a PC.

Micca PB42x are pretty good from all that I've seen

mandatory zreview

I've been using M-Audio speakers for a very long time. I used AV40 when I was in Korea but sold them when I left. After I saw that the AV-40 was discontinued I switched to the slightly smaller ones AV-32. Very happy with it. Plus I've seen this cheaper than Amazon at places like Guitar Center in the past 6 mo. so its very good bang for your buck IMO.

I got a pair of the MB42X (non-powered) last month and they are really really nice.

I was listening to music to test them that had a good mix, not necessarily my favorite songs. Just for fun I tried listening to Micheal Jackson's "Wanna be startin' somethin", because I know he was a mixing genius. I didn't hear the music, I heard 24 separate tracks. Then I started hearing quiet voices in the background that I had never heard before, after 35 years of listening to it.

1 Like

I'm knee deep in reviews across them all right now. I'll update when I make a decision though. So far my thoughts are this:

PB42X sound like they're a bit limited because of the low wattage.

R1280T seem well rounded, and match the wood grain on my desk, but that's not super important since the others are black.

the AV32 are decent, but again, 10w limitation is pretty low and I'm not sure how that's going to work out.