Looking for cheap HBA for 4-8 SAS drives

There are so many to choose from and I have zero experience with other than sata drives so I thought I’d turn here for advice. I’m learning about HBA’s for sas dirves. Right now I’m looking for a HBA for four 15k rpm sas drives but more might be added if I like how they work.

First question: For example if the sas controller is branded Dell, does that mean it only works on their workstations/servers? I know Dell has some proprietary fan headers so I was wondering if the add on cards could be locked somehow. The card I am looking at is a Dell H310 (LSI 9211). I assume it will work in my Dell T5810 but will it work on any normal motherboards?

Second question: What controllers are “best” for 4-8 cards? best as in reliable and easy to set up without big hastle? Don’t need the absolute fastest. My google-fu mostly lands me at LSI 9211, and to avoid cards with megaraid.

Third question: If I want more than 8 drives, say 16, what controller should I be looking on then? I feel like cheapest would be two LSI-9211 i8

The drives will be put in a cage called Icy Dock ToughArmor MB994SK-1B that fits in a 5,25" bay, its basically just a cage with power and sata connectors on the back, that can take both sata and sas 2.5" drives. The case is a Dell Precision T5810 so I suspect I will have to add a fan for the controller to keep it cool. Or if I want more drives I’ll go with bigger case. Now if this works ok I might get more drives and put them in my other case.

I am just brainstorming options using what I already have here so that is why I have so many open questions :slight_smile:

An LSI 9211-8i seems to be a good go to. Just flash it into IT mode and you’re golden. If you want more than 8 drives, you just use a SAS expander or backplane with a built in SAS expander.