Looking for a laptop

Looking for a laptop to start off college. I plan to wipe it and run Linux so bloat-ware isn't an issue, I'd like it to be Less than $750 USD. I don't need anything crazy, I have a plenty powerful desktop for that any suggestions are welcome including waiting for ryzen based laptops ;). I start in August but would like to have it by July. Thanks in advance.

So besides the basics what do you need it to do?

becuase if it's literally for only school stuff you could probably buy a 300$ laptop. so what extra does it have to do?

3 Likes

Why not just buy the cheapest thing you can put your own SSD in and call it good?

I was just thinking the same.

Plus it's college so buy something that you don't mind spilling beer on or being stolen.

What screen size are you looking at?

Buy an early macbook for 20 bucks and wipe it.

1 Like

I would like it to have first and foremost good build quality I have some bad experiences with cheapo laptops as well as good battery life and I will be doing some light to moderate programming (as I am a Software Engineering major). but other than that I don't need much more than the basics.

medium to large

That kind of screams 300-400$ laptop with an extended battery to me.

I really do have to drive home the point of make sure you buy one that you don't mind ruining. If your 300$ laptop gets stolen or dropped , not too bad. if your 750$ aluminum laptop gets stolen or dropped , much worse. I kept an hp mini 110 alive for 7 years even though it was just an all plastic netbook. It was a 230$ netbook when new. Super cheap but stayed together fine even though it was plastic. All I'm saying is dont get too caught up too much in the material it's made out of. as in don't spend an extra few hundred for ones that's aluminum or something.

3 Likes

any recommendations within that price category? I don't know laptops that well I'm a pretty dedicated desktop guy...