Long Term Computer Mouse

The RMB of my Deathadder chroma is finally showing its age. It works intermittently, so there is a possibility of fixing it (maybe).

Taking this into consideration: Which mouse do you think has the best trade off between performance and durability? (e.g. I have an old Dell XPS mouse that is apparently built like a tank but I dont think I would ever use it for gaming or productivity).

I’ve been using my Logitech G500 for the last 6 years or so, and have little reason to change. Hope you’re able to find a mouse you like, has all the buttons you need, and lasts for a while :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’ve been using a Logi G502 for a long time… it’s so good I now own a couple - one at home and one in the office.

1 Like

I really can’t speak to longevity versus utility. My mouse is in my hand all the time and it has moving parts, so it’s not going to last forever.

I use G502s at home and work also. Given that you can find them for like forty bucks, as long as they last a couple years, that’s good enough for me. I’m not looking to hand them down to my grandchildren.

For the right-click/left-click, you can try reconditioning the springs that are located inside the switch. It worked for me. I can find you examples of the process (videos) on YT if you need them. This worked for me.

As for the middle-mouse button, a little WD-40 saturating the switch for a bit worked. WD-40 is an anti corrosive material. It can clean any corrosion that is often found on the switch; this can restore the quality of the contact in the switch.

1 Like

With a little skill and soldering iron you can replace the entire microswitch.
I advise you to take the mouse apart first, as microswitches have different pin layouts and behaviour (connect / disconnect on click).