Linux Workstation for MorphoGraphX

Hello, my fellow labmates have tasked me to propose a build for a linux workstation to primarily run the imaging software MorphoGraphX. I am not too familiar with the software myself and have not tried running it yet. I posted on their forum and they seem to suggest a 3070 or 3080 for CNN for deep learning, a 14 core processor (more cores being better for OPM), and 128 GB of RAM. My background with regards to computers is windows machines that I have built for gaming so I am new to this and am not entirely sure what questions I should ask. I would be very grateful to hear any suggestions regarding GPUs, mobos, processors, etc for this machine. Thank you!

Here are my recommendations:

Case

Something with good airflow, Meshify C perhaps? Might want to buy a few fans on top of that. Maximize airflow, don’t go water cooling, no need. Buy a big-ass CPU cooler and call it a day.

PSU

Anything gold-rated that can provide enough power, an 850W might be enough but if the price difference is small go with a 1000W supply just to be sure.

RAM

Simple enough, max all slots on your motherboards, so either 8x16 or 4x32 GB DDR4/DDR5 at 3600 MHz or higher.

Harddrive

A 2 TB m.2 stick should be enough for a boot drive and to host current projects, with the archived ones on the NAS. If no NAS is available, take the hit and invest in an 8TB extra SSD.

Graphics card

3070/3080 is nice, but I’d go with an A4000 card or even A5000 card. They cost as much in todays market but has much better productivity results.

CPU & Motherboard

Motherboard will depend heavily on CPU choice. You have three viable choices here, Ryzen 9, Core i9 or low-end Threadripper. See build examples for further info.

Example builds

AMD Ryzen 9 5950X ~ $4100 (Part List)

The current top-end consumer offering. Motherboard should be an X570S or so.

Intel Core i9 12900K ~ $4500 (Part List)