Linux on Surface Pro 3

Hello all, this is my first post here. I thought i would share my experience with doing away with that pesky Windows operating system and replacing it with Linux. I am also new to Linux so this has been a great task for me to undertake as every online guide that i read for some reason did not work at all for me so I just decided to go it on my own.

Some issues that i had were the keyboard did not work and also the built in wireless was painfully slow (i'm talking like 20-100 bits per second), which were easily solved by hooking up a USB hub and plugging in a keyboard and USB wifi dongle. Also most online guides tell you to turn off the secure boot option in the UEFI boot menu, my only successful install that i was able to do was after i had turned secure boot back ON, of course that was also the first try at the OEM install too... so it could have been one or the other.

The Distro that i used was Ubuntu GNOME 14.10, the only way to get the system to boot into the OS after installing the OS many times was to use the OEM install option.

After the OS was installed and i could boot into it (after many, many tries) I finally updated the wireless drivers using GIMP.

git clone git://git.marvell.com/mwifiex-firmware.git
mkdir -p /lib/firmware/mrvl/
cp mwifiex-firmware/mrvl/* /lib/firmware/mrvl/

Next was getting the keyboard working. after some research i found out that the kernel 3.19 update had support for the keyboard, so i ventured out on the task of figuring out how to update the kernel. Eventually i just found the update straight from the ubuntu software center... durr... didnt think to look there first.... Now the keyboard works, but not the touchpad...Since the touchscreen works fine it really isnt an issue for me at all. After some more toying with it i may stumble across whatever i need to do to get that touchpad working again.

Giving Kernel 4.0 a try now

1 Like