Linux Distro for Netbook

Hi guys,

Recently acquired a relatively new HP Netbook for free. It came with Windows 7 Starter on it which i must say, runs terribly. There seems to be a lot of knowledgeable Linux users on this forum so I figured someone could help me.

I'm just looking for a lightweight distro that will run relatively quickly and stable. Worth mentioning that i have no real experience with Linux so something i can learn from and tinker with would be good. 

Any suggestions or advice would be great! Thanks guys.

Mac.

XFCE is lightweight, so either Manjaro or Sabayon with XFCE would be a fantastic choice.

+1 for Manjaro. I have it on my netbook. Way faster than Win7 starter.

Ok so i downloaded the XFCE 32-Bit version of Manjaro.

I'm trying to install via a USB drive. However i'm having some problems.

When i get to the menu install Manjaro, i select 'Start Manjaro Linux' it runs some code but the last command says:

'switch_root: failed to unlink ro_branch: Directory not empty'

'Welcome to Manjaro Linux!'

It's just stuck on this screen and i can't do anything. Can anyone help? Thanks!

Mac

How did you download the ISO? Was it via a torrent, or HTTP? If it wasn't by a torrent, you should verify the MD5.

Also, how did you burn the ISO? 

MD5? It was direct download from the Manjaro site. I could definitely just torrent it if that makes things easier?

I used LinuxLive USB Creator.